commonwealth_flandrensisThe Flandrensisian Commonwealth (a.k.a. Commonwealth of Flandrensis) was founded on October 24th, 2010 and is an intergovernmental organisation between two Belgian and one Dutch micronations.

The history of the Commonwealth start with the foundation of the Grand Duchy of Flandrensis on September 4th, 2008. Because micronationalism isn’t well-known in Belgium or the Netherlands Flandrensis was a unique project. Inspired by Flandrensis two citizens also started their own micronation: the Principality of Arkel (2009) as a vassal of Flandrensis and the Kingdom of Albion (2010).

As small micronations Arkel and Albion were faced with institutional problems so it was difficult to develop their micro nation alone. On September 26th, 2010 the Kingdom of Albion request the Flandrensisian government to accept Albion as a vassal, this would allow Albion to made use of all Flandrensisian institutions, until Albion would be strong and developed enough. Immediately arose the idea to form a Commonwealth, an intergovernmental organization existing out of Dutch-speaking micronations. On October 24th, 2010 the Flandrensisian Commonwealth was founded. The members agreed to respect each other sovereignty but always act for the common good of the Commonwealth. The members adopt the Flandrensisian constitution and follow its policy on foreign affairs, defence, civil rights and economy but with political autonomy.

On January 7th, 2012 Albion was disbanded by its founder, but in February the Duchy of Campinia – a Belgian micronation – joined the Commonwealth.

On November 2nd, 2012 the representatives of Flandrensis, Arkel and Campinia met each other in Ghent (Belgium) and reaffirmed their corporation in the Commonwealth, also called the Treaty of Ghent.

The Duchy of Campinia

duchy_of_campiniaCampinia was original founded on December 20th, 2000 as the Grand Principality of Campinia by Guillaume I. Campinia comes from the Latin word for campine (Dutch: Kempen) "fields" and "nia" which means land, the combination of the two words means "region of fields".

The micronation became inactive until 2012 when the Grand Prince abdicate the throne to his son who ruled under the name Guillaume II. Under his reign Campinia joined the Flandrensisian Commonwealth and claimed two islands in Antarctica: Moody Island and Vollmer Island.

In 2013 the prince appointed Elias Jonkers as regent, not much later Guillaume II also abdicate the throne and Elias reformed the Principality into a Duchy.

the Principality of Arkel

principality_of_arkelArkel was originally founded on 6th June, 2009 as the Herrschaft Arkel (Dutch: Heerlijkheid Arkel) by Maarten Glorie, a descendent of the lords of Arkel (Netherlands). Until the foundation of the Flandrensisian Commonwealth Arkel was a vassal and under full protection of Flandrensis.

The Principality claims the Antarctic island Dean Island as territory. But since 2010 the Ross Ice Shelf is a protectorate of Arkel.

Prince Maarten was also the first Minister of Foreign Affairs of Flandrensis and the second secretary-General of the Antarctic Micronational Union. Because of university Maarten resigned temporally on October 24th, 2012 and appointed the Grand Duke of Flandrensis as head of State of Arkel, hereby Flandrensis and Arkel forms a personal union. Grand Duke Niels of Flandrensis appointed Baron Lyam Desmet de Loungville as secretary of foreign affairs of the principality.